Political Science CSS Paper II 2003



NOTE: Attempt FIVE questions in all, including question No. 8 which is COMPULSORY. Select at least TWO QUESTIONS from each of the SECTIONS ‘A’ AND ‘B’. All questions carry EQUAL marks.


  1. Examine the role of political parties both in the UK and US in formulating a public opinion on major issues in foreign policymaking.

  2. Examine critically the power of the President in the US Constitution.

  3. Examine critically the factors leading to the disintegration of the Soviet Union.


  1. Examine the role of Sir Syed Ahmed Khan and Iqbal in promoting the growth of Muslim nationalism in India.

  2. Ayub Khan’s 1962 constitution was highly centralized and therefore ultimately responsible for creating political turmoil in the country. Discuss.

  3. How secure is the future of democracy both in Iran and Turkey after the 9/11 incident?

  4. What are the major factors in your opinion responsible for the success of democracy in India and failure in Pakisan?


  1. Write only the correct answer in the Answer Book. Do not reproduce the questions.

(1) Who was named the first leader of the opposition in Ayub Khan’s constituted first national assembly?
(a) Sardar Bahadur Khan
(b) Mumtaz Daultana
(c) Muhammad Hussain Chatta
(d) Maulana Tamizuddin Khan
(e) Khwaja Nazimuddin
(f) None of these

(2) Who is the author of the book, ‘Friends not master’?
(a) Ayub Khan
(b) Altaf Gauhar
(c) Sharifuddin Pirzada
(d) Helen Bolitho
(e) Ch. Muhammad Ali
(f) None of these

(3) “Myth of Independence” was written by:
(a) Shariful Mujahid
(b) Ayub Khan
(c) Z. A. Bhutto
(d) Ch. M. Ali
(e) Kh. Nazimuddin
(f) None of these

(4) The last Speaker of the National Assembly during Ayub’s government was:
(a) Khan A. Sabur
(b) Sheikh Mujibur Rehman
(c) Zahoor Khan
(d) Abdul Jabbar Khan
(e) Monim Khan
(f) None of these

(5) Who was the President of the US during the Cuban Missile crisis of 1962?
(a) Richard Nixon
(b) J. F. Kennedy
(c) Truman
(d) Eisenhower
(e) L. B. Johnson
(f) None of these

(6) Who was the prime minister of India during the 1965 war between Pakistan and India?
(a) Jawahar Lal Nehru
(b) Morarji Desai
(c) Lal Bahadur Shastri
(d) Indira Gandhi
(e) Zakir Hussain
(f) None of these

(7) Who was the mover of the Lahore Resolution of 1940?
(a) Ch. Mohammad Ali
(b) Liaquat Ali Khan
(c) A. K. Fazalul Haq
(d) Khawaja Shahabuddin
(e) Hussain Shaheed Suharwardy
(f) None of these

(8) Who was called the ambassador of Hindu Muslim Unity?
(a) Moti Lal Nehru
(b) Abdul Kalam Azad
(c) Mahatma Gandhi
(d) Muhammad Ali Jauhar
(e) Muhammad Ali Jinnah
(f) None of these

(9) Who is the author of the famous book, ‘The Spirit of Islam?
(a) Muhammad Iqbal
(b) Justice Amir Ali
(c) Sir Syed Ahmed Khan
(d) Hali
(e) Maulana Muhammad Ali Jauhar
(f) None of these

(10) Who was the architect of the Lucknow Pact of 1916, between Congress and Muslim League?
(a) Sardar Patel
(b) Nehru
(c) Iqbal
(d) C. R. Daas
(e) Gandhi
(f) None of these

(11) What was the total number of seats in the national assembly under the 1962 constitution?
(a) 100
(b) 150
(c) 300
(d) 200
(e) 220
(f) None of these

(12) Who was the president of Pakistan during the India China war of 1962?
(a) Ghulam Mohammad
(b) Iskandar Mirza
(c) Ch. Muhammad Ali
(d) Ayub Khan
(e) Mushtaq Gurmani
(f) None of these

(13) Name the author of the book “The great tragedy” and “Myth of Independence”:
(a) Z. A. Bhutto
(b) S. M. Zafar
(c) Shahid Javed Burki
(d) Ayub Khan
(e) Altaf Gohar
(f) None of these

(14) Who was the president of the US during the 1991 Iraq – Kuwait conflict?
(a) G. W. Bush
(b) Clinton
(c) Richard Nixon
(d) Jimmy Carter
(e) Ronal Regan
(f) None of these

(15) Who was the Prime Minister of India during the 1971 crisis?
(a) Lal Bahadur Shastri
(b) Morarji Desai
(c) Indira Gandhi
(d) Rajiv Gandhi
(e) Zakir Hussain
(f) None of these

(16) What was the year in which the Shah of Iran was overthrown?
(a) 1989
(b) 1992
(c) 1979
(d) 1976
(e) 1980
(f) None of these

(17) Who was the Governor General of India during the 1st Indo Pakistan conflict over Kashmir in 1948?
(a) Zahir Hussain
(b) Lord Mountbatten
(c) Krishna Menon
(d) Mahatma Gandhi
(e) Jawaharlal Nehru
(f) None of these

(18) China became a communist state under Mao Zedong in the year:
(a) 1948
(b) 1949
(c) 1947
(d) 1950
(e) 1951
(f) None of these

(19) Muslim League was formed in the year:
(a) 1906
(b) 1901
(c) 1911
(d) 1905
(e) 1909
(f) None of these

(20) Quaid e Azam joined Muslim League in the year:
(a) 1913
(b) 1914
(c) 1917
(d) 1919
(e) 1921
(f) None of these